Is Project Genie Free? Genie 4 Access, Cost and Every Free Option

Project Genie isn't free: Google limits it to Google AI Ultra, and Genie 4 is a waitlist-only research preview. Here's what it costs and every $0 route that works today.

Ashley Goolam

Ashley Goolam

29 October 2026

Is Project Genie Free? Genie 4 Access, Cost and Every Free Option

Apidog for Enterprise

On-Premises Deploy

SSO & RBAC

SOC 2 Compliant

Explore Apidog Enterprise

No, Project Genie isn’t free. As of October 29, 2026, Google says Project Genie is “only available with a Google AI Ultra plan,” and Google DeepMind’s Genie 4, announced on October 27, 2026, is a research preview for trusted testers with a public waitlist and no published price.

There’s no free route into Project Genie today. For $0 you can join the Genie 4 waitlist, try a hosted world model’s free tier, run open weights on your own GPU, or build the Gemini “agent in the loop” side on the free Gemini API tier. Here’s each one, plus what Project Genie costs.

Is Project Genie free?

Project Genie is not free. It’s a Google Labs app for creating and exploring real-time generated worlds, limited to Google AI Ultra subscribers aged 18 and over. Google AI Plus, Google AI Pro and free accounts don’t include it. Genie 4 isn’t in Project Genie yet; it’s "coming soon.

Question Answer Source
Is Project Genie free? No. “Only available with a Google AI Ultra plan” Google AI plans page
Which plans include it? The plan table shows Project Genie on Ultra 5x and Ultra 20x, not on Plus or Pro (viewed from Singapore) Google AI plans page
Age limit 18+ Project Genie page
Countries “More than 140 countries” Google AI plans page
Is Genie 4 in Project Genie? Not yet. “Coming soon” to Google AI Ultra subscribers Google DeepMind
Genie 4 price, release date, free tier Not published Not stated by Google
Ultra price in the US From $100/month, top tier $200/month Reported (Engadget)

Project Genie launched on Genie 3, which we cover in our Google Genie 3 explainer. For what Genie 4 adds, see What is Google Genie 4?

How much does Project Genie cost?

Google AI plan comparison: Project Genie is checked on the Ultra 5x and Ultra 20x plans and crossed out on Plus and Pro, with Genie 4 marked as waitlist, coming soon

Project Genie costs whatever a Google AI Ultra plan costs in your country, because there’s no standalone Project Genie subscription. Google’s plans page loads local prices. Viewed from Singapore on October 29, 2026, it listed:

Plan Price on Google’s page (Singapore) Project Genie
Google AI Plus SGD 6.98/month Not included
Google AI Pro SGD 28.99/month Not included
Google AI Ultra 5x SGD 139.99/month Included
Google AI Ultra 20x SGD 289.98/month Included

In the US, Engadget reported that Google split Ultra at I/O 2026 into a new $100 plan and a $200 plan (down from $250), and that Project Genie came with the $200 plan. Google’s plan table now shows a check for Project Genie on both Ultra columns. Check the plan you’re buying on your own country’s page before you pay, because the table may differ by region. [VERIFY: US Ultra prices and which Ultra tier includes Project Genie, from a US connection]

If Project Genie is your only reason to subscribe, that’s a steep price for what Google calls “an early research prototype.”

Does Project Genie have a free trial?

Google’s Google AI plans page didn’t advertise a free trial for Ultra on October 29, 2026. Its FAQ mentions trials in general (“When you start a trial or are subscribed to a Google AI plan…”), and Google One’s offer terms say any trial needs a payment method at sign-up and auto-renews at the standard price unless you cancel before it ends.

If a trial shows up on your sign-up screen, it’s a $0 way in, as long as you cancel in time. [VERIFY: whether an Ultra trial is offered on the US sign-up screen today]

Will Project Genie be free?

Nobody outside Google knows, and Google hasn’t said. The Genie 4 announcement names two next groups: “Google AI Ultra subscribers in Project Genie” and “early access partners of the Gemini API and Google AI Studio.” It says nothing about free users, a free tier or a lower plan.

The record so far:

Treat any claim of a free Genie 4 date as a rumor until Google publishes it.

How to use Project Genie (and Genie 4) for free today

You can’t use Project Genie for free, but three steps cost nothing.

  1. Join the Genie 4 waitlist. Open Google DeepMind’s Genie 4 post and click Join the Genie 4 waitlist. Joining is free. Access will still need Ultra, per Google.
  2. Watch the public gallery. The Project Genie page shows sample worlds and their prompts (Skydiving, Tide Rider, Cat Vac and more) without signing in.
  3. Learn the controls now. Our how to use Google Genie 3 guide covers the Project Genie workflow, so you’re ready on day one.

Free Project Genie alternatives you can try today

Decision map of $0 world model routes: a hosted free tier in the browser, open-weights models on your own GPU, or the Gemini API free tier for the agent loop, with Project Genie shown as a locked, Ultra-only branch

Every route below was checked on its official page on October 29, 2026. None is Genie 4; each covers part of what Project Genie does. For the full list, see 7 Project Genie alternatives.

Route What’s free Catch Checked
Marble by World Labs Free plan, $0/month: 7,000 credits, up to 4 world generations Generates explorable 3D worlds, not real-time video; card requirement not stated [VERIFY] Oct 29, 2026
Matrix-Game 4.0 Open-source (MIT repo), weights on Hugging Face, released Oct 15, 2026 Needs a Linux box with an NVIDIA GPU; README lists A100 80 GB and RTX 5090, 5080, 5070 Ti setups Oct 29, 2026
HY-World 1.5 (WorldPlay) Open model and training framework, real-time and interactive Its community license excludes the EU, UK and South Korea; needs an NVIDIA GPU Oct 29, 2026
Gemini API free tier gemini-3.8-flash input and output “Free of charge” on the free tier Free-tier data is used to improve Google’s products; rate limits apply Oct 29, 2026

Project Genie open source alternative: run it on your own GPU

With the hardware, open weights are the closest thing to a free Project Genie. Matrix-Game 4.0 pairs a game engine with a video model and ships a browser demo (the inference host needs the GPU, the browser client doesn’t). HY-World 1.5 streams interactive video at 24 FPS with keyboard and mouse control, per its README. There’s no per-session bill, only your GPU time.

Project Genie vs Unity

Google says game developers testing Genie 4 go “from an initial idea to an explorable prototype in seconds.” That’s a prototyping claim. Unity gives you deterministic physics, saved scenes and a shippable build; Genie 4, by Google’s account, drifts over longer sessions and struggles with legible text and spatial accuracy. Sketch a level’s mood in a world model, then build it in an engine.

Free Gemini API routes for the agent-in-the-loop side

Genie 4’s most developer-relevant feature runs on a model you can call today. Google says Gemini 3.8 Flash acts as “a guiding agent in the loop”: it watches the scene, breaks a goal into steps, reviews incoming frames to verify each step and re-plans when you step in.

That supervisor pattern works on any frames: a game, a browser, a robot camera. The Gemini API free tier covers gemini-3.8-flash at no charge, and you only set up billing to move to a paid tier, per Google’s rate limits page. Get a key in Google AI Studio, then send a frame and a goal:

curl "https://generativelanguage.googleapis.com/v1beta/models/gemini-3.8-flash:generateContent" \
  -H "x-goog-api-key: $GEMINI_API_KEY" \
  -H "Content-Type: application/json" \
  -d '{
    "contents": [{
      "parts": [
        {"text": "Goal: park the car in the garage. Return JSON with steps[] and verified (bool) for step 1."},
        {"inline_data": {"mime_type": "image/png", "data": "<BASE64_FRAME>"}}
      ]
    }],
    "generationConfig": {"responseMimeType": "application/json"}
  }'

Two cautions. Free-tier prompts are “used to improve our products,” so keep private frames off it. And the paid price for gemini-3.8-flash doubles on January 1, 2027, per Google’s pricing page, so budget for that if you plan to scale. More detail in our Gemini API free tier guide and the Gemini 3.8 Flash API guide. When Genie 4 opens to developers, our Genie 4 API guide will track access.

Let your coding agent test the free loop with Apidog CLI

Free tiers change without notice, and a verifier that returns prose instead of JSON breaks your loop quietly. Let your coding agent run Apidog CLI against it on every change.

npm install -g apidog-cli@latest
apidog login --with-token <YOUR_TOKEN>
npx -y skills add https://apidog.com   # pick your agent when prompted

Then give Claude Code, Codex or Cursor one prompt:

In Apidog project <id>, create a test case for POST
/v1beta/models/gemini-3.8-flash:generateContent that sends a sample frame and a goal,
asserts status 200 and that the response text parses as JSON with a "steps" array and a
"verified" boolean, flags any 429 rate-limit response, then run it against the
gemini-free environment and summarize failures.

The agent reads the payload schema, validates its file, creates the case and runs it:

apidog cli-schema get test-case-create
apidog cli-schema validate test-case-create --file case.json
apidog test-case create --project <id> --file case.json
apidog run --test-case <caseId> --project <id> -e <envId> -r cli,json

Swap -r cli,json for -r junit to run the same check in CI; Apidog CLI in Claude Code and our Apidog CLI CI/CD guide cover setup. Apidog’s Free plan covers up to 4 users, so the testing side stays at $0 too.

FAQ

Is Project Genie free with a Google account? No. As of October 29, 2026, Google says Project Genie is only available with a Google AI Ultra plan, for users 18 and over. A free Google account, Google AI Plus or Google AI Pro doesn’t include it.

Is Genie 4 free? Google hasn’t announced a price or a free tier. Genie 4 is a research preview for trusted testers, “coming soon” to Google AI Ultra subscribers in Project Genie and to Gemini API and Google AI Studio early access partners.

Is there a Project Genie free trial? Google’s plans page didn’t advertise one on October 29, 2026. Google One trials, when offered, need a payment method and auto-renew, so cancel before the trial ends if you only want to test it.

What’s the best free alternative to Project Genie? For a hosted option, Marble’s free plan gives you up to 4 world generations a month. For real-time, interactive worlds at $0, run Matrix-Game 4.0 or HY-World 1.5 on your own NVIDIA GPU.

Can I build with Genie 4’s agent loop for free? Partly. The world model isn’t public, but Gemini 3.8 Flash, the model Google uses as the agent in the loop, is free on the Gemini API free tier, with rate limits and data used to improve Google’s products.

Explore more

Gemini 4 Carbon vs Argon: Which Should You Use Now?

Gemini 4 Carbon vs Argon: Which Should You Use Now?

Gemini 4 Carbon vs Argon as of Oct 29, 2026: same $2/$10 launch price, Carbon ahead on every benchmark Google published, Argon the only one you can call. Side-by-side, reported weak spots, ship-today options and an A/B plan.

29 October 2026

Is Gemini 4 Carbon Free?

Is Gemini 4 Carbon Free?

Gemini 4 Carbon is not free: Google prices it at $2/$10 per 1M tokens at launch and only a subset of cyber defenders can use it. Here's every free Gemini route that works today, verified on Google's own pages.

29 October 2026

Gemini 4 Carbon Release Date and API Access: Who Can Use It Now

Gemini 4 Carbon Release Date and API Access: Who Can Use It Now

Gemini 4 Carbon has no public release date as of Oct 29, 2026: cyber defenders first, Fairwind partners next, developers 'as soon as possible'. Here's the Argon precedent and how to get your code ready.

29 October 2026

Practice API Design-first in Apidog

Discover an easier way to build and use APIs

Is Project Genie Free? Genie 4 Access, Cost and Every Free Option