DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash vs V4-Pro vs V4-Flash: Benchmarks, Cost, and Speed Compared

The smaller, cheaper V4.1-Flash beats V4-Pro on DeepSeek's own benchmarks and absorbs it on September 14. Here are the specs, prices, and throughput side by side, plus an Apidog workflow to diff both models first.

Medy Evrard

10 September 2026

DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash vs V4-Pro vs V4-Flash: Benchmarks, Cost, and Speed Compared

Apidog for Enterprise

On-Premises Deploy

SSO & RBAC

SOC 2 Compliant

Explore Apidog Enterprise

DeepSeek published the model card for DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash on September 10, 2026, and the numbers are awkward for V4-Pro customers. The smaller, cheaper model scores higher than the flagship on every coding and agent benchmark DeepSeek lists, costs 70 to 77% less per token at peak, and on September 14 it absorbs V4-Pro entirely: every deepseek-v4-pro request gets routed to V4.1-Flash and billed at Flash rates.

This isn’t the usual small-versus-large trade-off. It’s a comparison with a deadline. If you run V4-Pro in production, you have four days to learn what changes when the reroute lands. If you run V4-Flash, the change already happened: the deepseek-v4-flash name is served by V4.1-Flash today.

Below: all three models on architecture, DeepSeek’s reported benchmarks, USD pricing, and throughput, then a workflow for running one prompt set through both deepseek-v4-pro and deepseek-flash in Apidog before the cutover to diff outputs, latency, and usage counts. For the architecture deep dive, read what DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash is first; for the migration checklist, see the V4-Pro retirement guide.

TL;DR

Specs side by side

The V4.1 generation is a new architecture, not a re-post-train. DeepSeek calls it a Causal Encoder-Decoder (CED): 40 layers split 20 encoder and 20 decoder, with 384 routed experts plus one shared expert per layer. The model card puts the backbone at 552B parameters (763B with the vision encoder).

V4-Flash V4-Pro V4.1-Flash
Architecture generation V4 MoE V4 MoE V4.1 Causal Encoder-Decoder, 40 layers
Total parameters 284B (OpenRouter listing of the vision build) Not disclosed here 552B backbone, 763B with vision encoder
Active parameters 13B Not disclosed here 8B prefill, 16B decode
Context window 1M tokens 1M tokens 1M tokens
Max output 384K tokens 384K tokens 384K tokens
Vision Separate Vision-Exp build Not disclosed here Native, DeepSeek-ViT encoder
License Not covered here Not covered here MIT, weights on Hugging Face
Concurrency limit 2,500 500 2,500
API status Retired, alias served by V4.1-Flash Reroutes to V4.1-Flash on Sept 14 GA since Sept 10, model id deepseek-flash

The split active-parameter count is the detail to notice: V4-Flash used 13B for every token, while V4.1-Flash spends 8B on input and 16B on output, where the quality lives.

Benchmarks: where the 11.5 points come from

Every number below is DeepSeek-reported from the model card. No independent runs have been published, and the retirement notice’s “tests by multiple parties” phrase doesn’t name them. Treat them as vendor claims and verify on your own prompts.

DeepSWE v1.1 (+11.5 over Pro, +19.8 over V4-Flash). The headline, and the only gap large enough to change decisions. DeepSWE measures multi-file software engineering tasks, the workload coding agents run all day. If it holds on your repos, V4.1-Flash out-codes the model that cost four times more.

Terminal-Bench 2.1 (+2.7). Shell-driven agent tasks. V4-Flash-0731 already beat V4-Pro-Preview here in July; V4.1 extends the lead by under three points. Real, not decisive.

HumanEval (+2.6) and GSM8K (+0.4). Both are near saturation: every model clears 90 on GSM8K, and HumanEval says little about production code. Don’t weight these rows.

MiniMax M3 vs DeepSeek V4 vs Qwen 3.7 has the V4-generation numbers against other open models; none include V4.1 yet.

Cost: three models, six price tiers

Peak is Monday to Friday, 01:00 to 04:00 and 06:00 to 10:00 UTC; everything else is off-peak at half price. Rates are per 1M tokens from the pricing page, effective September 10. V4-Flash rows use its August 21, 2026 USD rates as the “before” column.

Model and tier Input, cache hit Input, cache miss Output
V4-Flash, off-peak (Aug 21 rates) $0.007 $0.22 $0.66
V4-Flash, peak (Aug 21 rates) $0.014 $0.44 $1.32
V4-Pro, off-peak $0.022 $0.66 $1.98
V4-Pro, peak $0.044 $1.32 $3.96
V4.1-Flash, off-peak $0.003 $0.15 $0.60
V4.1-Flash, peak $0.006 $0.30 $1.20

Against V4-Flash, V4.1 cuts cache-hit input by about 57%, cache-miss input by about 32%, and output by about 9%. Against V4-Pro, the cuts are 77% on cache-miss input and 70% on output at peak.

A worked month. A coding agent processes 2B input tokens a month at a 70% cache-hit rate (system prompt and repo context reused across turns) and emits 300M output tokens, all at peak.

V4-Pro, peak V4-Flash, peak V4.1-Flash, peak V4.1-Flash, off-peak
1.4B cache-hit input $61.60 $19.60 $8.40 $4.20
600M cache-miss input $792.00 $264.00 $180.00 $90.00
300M output $1,188.00 $396.00 $360.00 $180.00
Monthly total $2,041.60 $679.60 $548.40 $274.20

That’s 73% less than V4-Pro, and moving batch jobs off-peak halves it again. Output tokens dominate every column, so the 70% output cut matters more than the cache-hit headline. The V4.1-Flash pricing breakdown covers the cache-hit math.

Speed and throughput

DeepSeek publishes no tokens-per-second figure, so the throughput story rests on three architectural facts and one anecdote.

Measure your own p50 and p95 before you trust any of it.

What you lose and gain after September 14

There’s no “which model should I pick” after the cutover. deepseek-v4-pro becomes an alias, so the honest framing is a ledger.

You gain: higher scores on every listed benchmark, 70 to 77% lower peak prices, 5x concurrency, native image input without a separate vision model id, and a reasoning-effort dial that DeepSeek describes as continuously controllable on a 1 to 100 scale.

You lose: the ability to pin a V4-generation checkpoint. Prompts tuned for V4-Pro’s style, verbosity, or tool-call formatting can drift. Output length and reasoning-token counts can change, which changes your bill in ways the rate table doesn’t show. And the reroute happens on DeepSeek’s schedule, not yours.

That second list is why you should diff before the 14th, not after.

Diff V4-Pro against V4.1-Flash in Apidog before the cutover

Apidog tests the API layer, so it’s the right place to run one prompt set through both model ids and compare what comes back.

  1. Add the endpoint. Create a project and add POST https://api.deepseek.com/chat/completions, or import an OpenAPI spec.
  2. Put the key and the model id in environments. Store DEEPSEEK_API_KEY and a MODEL variable. Create two environments, v4-pro with MODEL=deepseek-v4-pro and v41-flash with MODEL=deepseek-flash, and reference them as Bearer {{DEEPSEEK_API_KEY}} in the header and "model": "{{MODEL}}" in the body.
  3. Save your real prompts as requests. Pick 20 to 30 prompts that represent production: your system prompt, a tool-call turn, a long-context summarization, a multi-file code edit. Save each with stream: false so the usage object lands in the response body.
  4. Assert on the fields that change your bill. Build a test scenario from the saved requests and add assertions on usage.prompt_tokens, usage.completion_tokens, and usage.prompt_cache_hit_tokens. Record response time per step, and add a pre-request script that stamps the environment name into a header so the runs are labeled.
  5. Run once per environment, then diff. Run the scenario under v4-pro, then under v41-flash. Compare completion-token counts (the reroute changes your output bill), latency per step, and the content itself for formatting drift.
  6. Rerun in CI on the 14th. Run the same scenario with apidog-cli in your pipeline at the cutover. Anything the reroute broke shows up as a failed assertion instead of a support ticket.

The same comparison as a script:

import os, time
from openai import OpenAI

client = OpenAI(api_key=os.environ["DEEPSEEK_API_KEY"],
                base_url="https://api.deepseek.com")

prompt = "Make payment retries in the checkout service idempotent. Return a unified diff."

for model in ("deepseek-v4-pro", "deepseek-flash"):
    start = time.perf_counter()
    r = client.chat.completions.create(
        model=model,
        messages=[{"role": "user", "content": prompt}],
    )
    print(model, f"{time.perf_counter() - start:.2f}s",
          r.usage.prompt_tokens, r.usage.completion_tokens)

Run it at peak and off-peak and keep the outputs. Download Apidog to keep the diff, assertions, and run history in one place.

FAQ

Is V4.1-Flash better than V4-Pro at coding? On DeepSeek’s reported numbers, yes: 74.2 vs 62.7 on DeepSWE v1.1 and 90.6 vs 87.9 on Terminal-Bench 2.1. For how the V4 generation compared with Claude on coding, see DeepSeek V4 vs Claude Opus for coding.

What happens to my V4-Pro integration on September 14? From 04:00 UTC, every deepseek-v4-pro request is served by V4.1-Flash and billed at Flash rates. Your code keeps working; the model behind it changes. The migration guide has the full checklist.

Do I need to rename deepseek-v4-flash to deepseek-flash? Not today. deepseek-v4-flash and deepseek-v4-flash-vision-exp are still accepted and served by V4.1-Flash. DeepSeek hasn’t given a removal date, so switch to deepseek-flash the next time you touch the config.

Is V4.1-Flash faster than V4-Pro? DeepSeek says so and publishes no figures. The architecture supports the claim: 8B active parameters on prefill and a KV cache a quarter the size of V4-Flash’s. Measure your own.

Can I still run V4-Pro somewhere? Not on DeepSeek’s API after the 14th. The V4 generation’s background is in What Is DeepSeek V4; V4.1-Flash weights are on Hugging Face under MIT.

The short version

V4.1-Flash is smaller, cheaper, and higher-scoring at once, at least on the vendor’s table, and that table can’t tell you whether it’s better for your prompts. Run both model ids through the same prompt set in Apidog this week, keep the diffs, and you’ll know what changes on September 14 before your users do.

button

Explore more

How to Use the Gemini 3.8 Live API: Free Tier, Pricing, and Extended Thinking

How to Use the Gemini 3.8 Live API: Free Tier, Pricing, and Extended Thinking

Gemini 3.8 Live and Live Extended Thinking launched Sep 15 with free tokens on both models. Here's the WebSocket setup, pricing worked out, and where Apidog fits.

16 September 2026

How to Build Your Own Software Factory With Codex, CI, and Apidog API Tests

How to Build Your Own Software Factory With Codex, CI, and Apidog API Tests

The scaled-down version of OpenAI's agentic software factory diagram a small team can build this week: Codex on a goal, CI running Apidog API tests, risk-based review, and a feature-flagged deploy.

16 September 2026

How to Set Up the Apidog Self-Hosted Runner for Scheduled API Tests

How to Set Up the Apidog Self-Hosted Runner for Scheduled API Tests

Deploy the Apidog self-hosted runner with Docker, connect it to your team, and schedule API tests that reach intranet services and report back to Apidog.

14 September 2026

Practice API Design-first in Apidog

Discover an easier way to build and use APIs

DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash vs V4-Pro vs V4-Flash: Benchmarks, Cost, and Speed Compared